Tutorial hell and The best way of learning to code.

Let's be honest. If you are a complete beginner and want to learn to code, it can be a programming language or a framework, what would you do first? Alright, let me share my experience.

My Experience as a beginner

tim-gouw-1K9T5YiZ2WU-unsplash.jpg When I first started learning how to code I wasn't understanding where to start properly. So, I started searching on Youtube, and then I started watching tutorials about Html, CSS, and Javascript. The tutorials had some projects also. I learned how to build awesome landing pages with cool animations. After watching tutorials after tutorials I was feeling that I became good at this. Now I was interested in building something on my own. But when I start building my own project, I was drawing a complete blank. I had no clue how to get started and how to put all the things together. Honestly, I wasn't able to build something of my own. So, what was the problem? The problem was I became too dependent on those tutorials and eventually, I was falling into tutorial hell.

I think we all somehow do this as a beginner. We usually don't know the proper way to learn to code as a beginner. We become too dependent on tutorials without having a plan. We continuously watch tutorials after tutorials and we get trapped into tutorial hell.

How to escape from tutorial hell and the best way of learning to code

christina-wocintechchat-com-YVT21p6pO_g-unsplash.jpg

Tutorials can be a good learning resource but at a certain time, you have to take your hands off from this. What I'm saying is tutorials are good just for the basics done but don't fall into that rabbit hole of just doing tutorials because you'll feel like you're not good enough to start your own projects. Now you may say, Ok but what should I do? So let me tell you what you should do.

1. First, make a plan of what you want to do or what you want to build. I'm talking about projects or a problem you want to solve. Don't just dive straight into tutorial videos. Thinking about the problem first and then worrying about the implementation is a key part of being a developer.

2. We need to do some basics first. Let's assume you want to build a To-do list app with javascript. Then you need to know some basics of javascript. Just go to w3school or some easy documentation and learn some basics there. You also can see tutorial videos just to get the basics done, nothing more than that.

3. After you get the basics just take a deep breath and jump into your project or problem. When you start building out the things that you want you can pretty much break them down into small pieces and then you can identify, well I know how to set up the basic project but how do I do this thing? Then you can start googling things, how to do that specific thing using that specific technology. Once you google that thing you're like oh okay so that's it let me put it on my project. You will be stuck and that's normal. Don't be scared. Everyone faces this. Remember Google is your best friend. Make a habit of googling. It is fine if your code is not 100% correct. The goal is to begin learning how to research and think about the problem.

4. If you feel you need to watch tutorials of someone else's project before starting your own, it's fine but you need to do this in the right way. Don't just follow what the instructor doing, rather learn the concepts of how he doing things. After watching all the videos, take the final project and rebuild it. Don't just duplicate it. Break the code and make things different on your own. If you get stuck don't think you can't do it. Do googling, research and, research. You will find your solution.

5. Then researching after researching you'll learn lots of things and most importantly you will understand and find the best way of your learning. Once you grab this skill of learning of your own and boom!! Now you can learn any programming language or any framework or pretty much anything on your own.

And that's it.

nicole-wolf--xTBn1YBrTE-unsplash.jpg

To sum up, what I'm trying to say is don't fall into the tutorial hell. Don't be that monkey who just follows other people. Think on your own and make things on your own. That’s what good developers do. Don't be scared to do this jump. I know it's scary, I know you are a beginner but trust me you can do it. Happy coding!